Alice Tocher

Govett Quilliam

If you’re a regular around the West End Precinct you’re likely to recognise Alice Tocher, one of the Partners at local law firm Govett Quilliam. She’s often out and about meeting with clients and catching up with friends and family in the heart of the city. Powered by coffee, she juggles being a mum and working professional with ease.


Where were you born?

I was born in the Wairarapa, and made my way to New Plymouth in 2010.


What is your role?

I am a partner at Govett Quilliam Law. Govett Quilliam is a full service law firm, with the exception of criminal law. We’re long-established here in Taranaki, and have been around for more than 150 years.  We are always looking to the future, with a strong focus on innovation and technology.


How long have you worked here?

I have been with GQ for 11 years. I arrived as a Lawyer, and after a couple of years became an Associate, and then a Partner. I co-lead our 10-strong corporate commercial team. My specialties are across commercial and corporate work, with a strong background in property.

In terms of day to day this includes managing the team as they deal with a range of commercial matters, including commercial property and business transactions, leasing and contract negotiations. In the corporate space, we provide a variety of legal services. I have had the benefit of being involved in a number of secondment roles for our corporate clients.  These roles provide valuable insight and allow myself and our team to better understand our corporate clients’ legal needs when providing them with external legal support.


What do you love about working in the West End Precinct?

I love the vibe, the easily accessible and excellent coffee. You know and bump into people both professionally and personally. It is a real communuty.


Are you a dog or cat person?

I’m going to go with both.  I’ve always had cats, although we don’t have one at the moment.  We currently have a Blue Heeler, who’s just turned 9 years old.


Best spot you have lived?

Where we are now. We’ve built our own home just out of Inglewood, and have 75 acres around us. It’s our own little slice of Taradise.


Best travel spot?

Can I say two? In Wales theres a little place called Llandovery, it’s where my dad’s family comes from. It’s like a home away from home, imagine a little farming village.  And, I just love Paris.


Best achievement?

On professional level, being a business owner and partner at GQ. On a personal level, being the mother of two gorgeous children.


How do you find the juggling of mother-hood/fatherhood and work?

It’s a great challenge and something I’ve consciously chosen, I really do enjoy it.  I believe it’s so important to have your own independence and to do something for you.


If you were stranded on a deserted island what are three things you would take?

An umbrella, access to Spotify (with podcasts and music) and pizza from Ms White’s.


Favourite film?

Pride & Prejudice


Favourite book/album?

The Life of Pi